Rachel’s Weblog

July 25, 2008

New lessons

Filed under: Uncategorized — by rlaughlin @ 4:53 am

I started thinking today about things that I had no control over and I began to feel overwhelmed.  I quickly put the thoughts and feelings into check with the serenity prayer… accept things I cannot change… and I am amazed at the power of prayer and meditation!

I thought about a verse in Romans, “Be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind”.  I used to believe that I could think whatever I wanted, as long as I didn’t say it.  But I think that even though I didn’t say what I was thinking, it came through in my attitude and my actions.  Today I didn’t let my mind dwell on negative thoughts.  Of course they popped into my thoughts but I didn’t give them the time of day, I just moved on to other things…and it worked!

The mind is such a powerful thing and it can be used for God’s will when I focus NOT on my actions and words but first focus on my thoughts. 

I think I learned an important lesson today!

1 Comment »

  1. Ain’t it great? You know me…used to be Queen ‘o Pessimism I’m STILL amazed at how powerful positive thought can be. Not just on the mind, but in the physical body. I’m hardly ever sick and my “episodes” are few and far between if I keep myself in a positive frame of mind. If we woulda known all this in High School, we would have dominated. Wait. We dominated anyway. But we woulda dominated in the GOOD way!

    Comment by April — July 31, 2008 @ 4:28 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

