Rachel’s Weblog

July 16, 2008

Humility

Filed under: Uncategorized — by rlaughlin @ 6:05 am

I used to think humility was something you strived for a character trait that you achieved by “acting” humble.  My meditation time for the last week has been about humility and I’ve learned a lot by meditating on the passage and then applying it throughout the day.

I don’t think humility is a trait I strive to achieve.  I think humility is a something that happens when I humble myself before God and set my will aside, praying that He will show me His will today.  It is achieved by doing the next right thing throughout the day.  Helping others when the opprotunity arises.  Choosing to stay silent when I want to correct someone who is wrong (as if I know all that anyway)  And in everything I do remember that it’s not my will but His.

The past 7 days have really changed the way I think about things.  It’s amazing how easy life becomes when I let go and let God.

1 Comment »

  1. I agree totally about the whole letting go thing. I have this quote in my Journal..NO idea who said it:

    Humility is not thinking less of yourself but thinking of yourself less. –Unknown

    Here was my thought for today…thought I’d share it with ya:

    “Invent your world. Surround yourself with people, color, sounds, and work that nourishes you.” ~ SARK

    Thanks for being a part of my little world.

    Comment by April — July 16, 2008 @ 3:38 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

