Rachel’s Weblog

June 30, 2008

Forced to Unplug

Filed under: Uncategorized — by rlaughlin @ 9:26 pm

I have been viewing a great blog for awhile called Unplug Your Kids. I’ve wanted to do this but just hadn’t yet.  A weak tree, electricity line and and summer thunderstorm unplugged me and my kids on Sunday afternoon.  I was bummed about the outage b/c I had just started brewing coffee, then I started to look on the bright side.  I was forced to unplug.

We played Trash or Garbage, I don’t know the name of it, and I should because Margie ask Noah and I a couple dozen times to play it on Saturday…but Noah was on the computer and I was busy with other things.  Well.  I asked Margie to get the cards and I learned a new game.  It was fun.  Noah left to practice for Teen Ministry at church and Margie and I finished the game.  I was enjoying it so much that I lost track of time and was late for afternoon church. 

I’m going to set a goal to have an unplugged Saturday afternoon once a month (or more) and maybe a time during the week, or a set time every evening.  Whoa!-someone grab the lasso and bring me back!  Reasonable goals!  Okay…at least once a week and maybe it’ll be a blog regular thing.  My friend April in Georgia is Unplugged most of the time without even knowing it!  Course, when you grow up unplugged I guess it comes naturally.  I myself had rabbit ears growing from my head and never could figure out why they didn’t have tv.  What kind of people don’t have tv? 

The challenge will be finding acitivities for a 13 year old boy and a 7 year old girl…any suggestion is appreciated!

1 Comment »

  1. Here I am…in all of my unplugged glory. Check this site out….I use it all the time. And they have stuff for ALL ages. And all the stuff is free! Even the printables!

    http://familyfun.go.com/

    Maybe I’ll try the unplugged Saturday once a month too. But that means the computer too, eh? Hmm….ponder this I will have to.

    Btw…your insolent comment “I don’t get it” on my 15 Seconds Blog was….well…insolent.

    Comment by April — July 1, 2008 @ 3:45 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

